Apple Cider Shortbread

I saw this recipe in one of the free daily newspapers and tried to recreate it to make it my own. Mainly because I wasn’t smart enough to rip out the recipe from the paper so really, that left me no choice but to create my own. I wanted to bake something that felt Christmas-y for the Christmas Eve gathering tonight so I’m not sure if it will be received well. I may or may not have stolen a few pieces though and formed my own opinion. What’s yours?

Ingredients:

  • home made shortbread
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 2 cups (400g) sugar
  • 1/3 cup (50g) flour
  • 1.5 cups (375ml) apple juice or cider, not from concentrate, ideally fresh and organic
  • peel and juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 tsp baking power
  • icing sugar to dust on top

20121223-175138.jpgDirections: bake shortbread according to recipe. While it bakes, whisk egg yolks, sugar, flour, spices and baking powder together. Add lemon zest, lemon juice and apple juice and whisk until even and smooth (no lumps). Reduce heat to 300F (150C). Pour mixture over hot short bread crust and bake for 30-45 minutes (depending on your oven), or until top starts to brown. Cool on rack to room temperature, then chill for 2h. Dust with icing sugar and cut into squares.

Leave a Reply

